The Rocky Road to Dublin

Welcome to the special Ireland edition of Devine Adventures! Every post will have it’s very own theme song. Unfortunately I am not able to have the songs play in the background or input a YouTube video, I will simply be sharing a link to the song. Please take a quick moment to give it a listen!

Today’s song of the day is The Rocky Road to Dublin (version by The Kilkenny’s).

Go ahead and listen… 

It’s just under three minutes… 

It’s worth it, I promise…

Everyone good?

See, not terrible at all!

I woke up at 5:30 am in my hotel room across from O’Hare and could not fall back asleep to save my life. Today is day one of what I can only hope will be an amazing two week adventure. So there I sat, watching the cloudy sunrise over the runway, taking in the last morning I will have in the USA for a while. 

My nerves have mostly subsided, and all that remains is pure excitement and exhilaration. I am so ready!

We checked out of the hotel at noon and went straight to the airport… Which I absolutely thought was a bit farther away than it ended up being. We got in the car at 12:01 and I was in the security line by 12:10. But that ended up being a bit of a blessing in disguise, since some very nice folks in front of me didn’t speak much English and, therefore, didn’t understand the finer points of airline security procedures. Poor old souls. Alas, I had ample time to get through to my gate and catch up with my dear friend Julia for a delightful drink!

Boarding my plan now, and if all goes well, I will be in Dublin by 5:15 am!

Leave a comment